top of page
  • Writer's pictureDantaeReviews

Captain Marvel

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

Directed by: Anna Boden & Ryan Fleck

Release date: March 8th, 2019

Rating: 6/10




Captain Marvel is another entry into the MCU and it feels like it. Not the say that that’s a bad thing, but I think it feels a little too “by the numbers”. Now I’m not one of those guys out there who are hating the movie deeply because of their anti-feminist views or whatever, in fact I quite like the film. From a review standpoint though there are things that could be improved on. I don’t have anything against Brie Larson at all, but I think the character of Captain Marvel was written poorly. Yes, she has to struggle with who she is throughout the film, but besides the memory loss, she doesn’t have any character flaws. Once she knows who she used to be and what she needed to do, she became too OP in my opinion. It’s hard to make a character as strong as she is with flaws I’ll give them that, but I think she should’ve had more internal flaw(s) rather than the external one of her not knowing who she is. Flaws are what make characters interesting and she seemed a little flat to me.  On the other end, Ben Mehndelson does a fantastic job as the head Skrull, Talos. I’m a big Mehndelson fan and I think he is one of the most interesting characters in the movie. Everyone else in the film did a fine job as well.  This movie isn’t bad by any means, I liked it a lot, however, compared to the rest of the recent entries in the MCU, this one is middle-of-the-road to me.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page