top of page
  • Writer's pictureDantaeReviews

Thor

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

Directed by: Kenneth Branagh

Release date: May 6th, 2011

Rating: 7/10












Thor is a movie that, when I first watched it, I thought it was boring. Granted, when I first watched it, I was 11 or 12. Now I can see that this is a movie about a character's journey from a whiny, violence-prone boy into a wise, empathetic king.

Over the course of this movie, Thor is sent from Asgard to New Mexico without any of his powers and be becomes unworthy of his hammer, Mjolnir. I think that this is a great way to introduce a character, you strip him down to his weakest point and see him evolve emotionally. It's a brave choice, but I'm glad they did it. They could've told an action story where Thor comes to Earth and solves an Asgard related issue, but instead they tell us who Thor is. Better than that, we see Thor discover who he is.

Thor is a great origin story that introduces us to a character at a crucial point in his life, where he needs to change everything about who he is in order to become a better man.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page