top of page
  • Writer's pictureDantaeReviews

Upgrade

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

Directed by: Leigh Whannell

Release date: June 1st, 2018

Rating: 10/10





Upgrade flew under the radar in 2018. While it still made a decent amount at the box office, it came out in between Solo: A Star Wars Story and The Incredibles 2. Because of that release date, I think, is why the general audience missed it, myself included since I didn't see it until January 2019. Which is very unfortunate since, after seeing it, I think it's one of the best films of 2018. Definitely in the Top 15.

It's a blend of many genres, but balances them so well it's hard to identify the genres without thinking about it. The cinematography is fantastic. Between the beautiful establishing shots, the creativity of the body mounted camera, and the fantastic lighting its a wonder to watch.

There were moments when I thought I predicted the plot, and it seemed that way for awhile, but then the movie surprised me even further. I really enjoyed this movie and I think everyone should see it.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page